It’s been a little bit since our last Unfortunate Cover, so take a look at past picks if you need your memory jogged: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7.

Our latest entry into the series is so unappealing, it almost doesn’t deserve comment. Almost! One of the schools where I work is putting on a used book sale later this month, and students have been encouraged to bring in donations. When I saw this one come in, I knew that it would repel readers far and wide:

img_2266

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

This is certainly unfortunate. If you’ve been looking for a way to inspire someone to not read Lewis Carroll’s classic, place this anywhere in their field of vision. But more offensive than the 2 for $1 “sticker” (that is actually part of the cover), more disturbing than the stiff, dated, oil painting of the main characters is the fact that Alice kinda looks like a 30 year old dude with a wig. Let’s take a closer look:

img_2268

Let me know if I’m wrong about this one.