The aught eight edition of The Children’s & Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards (a.k.a. The Cybils) is about to commence. I’m honored to say that I’ll be a panelist, residing in the Fiction Picture Book category – a spot I couldn’t be more pleased with. I’m looking forward to working with my fellow panelists and nailing down the best picture book of the year. Here’s what the group looks like:

Category Organizer

Pamela Coughlan,  Mother Reader

Panelists (Round I):

Cheryl Rainfield, Cheryl Rainfield

Stephanie Ford,  The Children’s Literature Book Club

Melissa Wiley, Here In The Bonny Glen


Round II Judges:

Erica Perle,  Pajamazon

Emily Beeson, Whimsy and Deliciously Clean Reads

Maureen Kearney, Confessions of a Bibliovore

Anne-Marie Nichols, My Readable Feast

Stefan Shepherd,  Zooglobble

Let’s take a look at the past winners in this category, starting with the 2006 winner:

“Scaredy Squirrel” by Mélanie Watt.

And the 2007 winner:

“The Chicken-Chasing Queen of Lamar County” by Janice N. Harrington and Shelly Jackson.