With all the recent scrutiny over the Caucasian-ized covers of Magic Under Glass (which Bloomsbury has announced it will rejacket) and The Mysterious Benedict Society, I thought I might humbly offer my services for jacket overhauls. I like to call them Cover Covers. Click here to read my first Cover Covers post and learn the rules I abide by for these redesigns (basically, I have to take the images that randomly come up on a search and I only get 5 minutes to create the new cover). Let’s get started…

Side by side with the original:

(Source Image: ‘amazingglasscirclehttp://www.flickr.com/photos/58117789@N00/131681040)

This one didn’t turn out too bad. Maybe not the most eye-catching, but a worthy effort. Let’s just focus on the glass, okay?

Side by side with the original:

(Source Image: ‘Foggy Foresthttp://www.flickr.com/photos/51035603401@N01/210480)

Hmm. Not very good. This redesign makes it seem like a creepy forest story. It will be interesting to see if anything comes of the Benedict brouhaha.

