As far as I know, it began in ’07.

A close up of sock-covered feet.

crookedsocks

Pretty memorable cover, right? I would say so. That opinion must have been pretty wide spread, because the socks bandwagon got crowded quickly.

kickoff-coveralicesockscandyfloss

Numerous times, I thought the trend had run its course. I wouldn’t see a sock-covered book for a few months and assume that I wouldn’t see one for a long time.

But they kept popping up.

popular-coverconfetticovstandingforsockscov

I really thought ‘09 would mark the end, but based on the following evidence, I see this trend continuing well into 2010.

friendsockcov

Friend Me by Cathy Hopkins.

But that’s not all…

totaltragedycov

The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet by Erin Dionne.

Where will the collection stop?

(Thanks to A Fuse #8 Production for the cover tip)

